“My name is Claire, I am married and I am 44 years old. I live Harwich Essex and I work as a Training Manager for a supported living company who support adults with learning disabilities.

I first went into the care industry after receiving my kidney transplant from my father when I was 20 years old. I felt after my transplant I wanted to work and make a difference to others.

At the age of 17 I was diagnosed with IgA nephropathy, this came as a surprise, the consultants explained to me it was a rare disease and to this day, they are unsure how I got it.

My parents were both tested in order for me to have a kidney transplant and my dad, Paul had the best match.

However, I think my mum had the hardest job as she had to wait over 6 hours to know if her husband and daughter were ok.

I never had dialysis but by the time I was 20 years old, I had my transplant ‘Porky’, on the 4th June 1999.

I have always been under the care of Guys Hospital in London. I still have the same nurse 24 years later.

Knowing my kidneys wouldn’t get better and that a kidney transplant was needed was difficult, but I just accepted it.

After the kidney transplant, I woke up next to my dad and felt amazing and full of energy. My dad was in pain but happy and chatty. My lasting memory was the dinner that evening which was kidney pie which I couldn’t eat after having a transplant, so my dad ate both!

I have also been an advocate for telling my story and giving others hope. My life is no different, I’ve even done a tandem parachute jump. I look after myself, take my medication and rest when needed with a hope my kidney carries on.

On the 4th June, as a family we celebrate another birthday, each year is a bonus. After all my kidney is 67 years old.

Dad is well and has never had an issue, my family including mum, two brothers and my husband are amazing and are my rock.

My advice to others is you can live a normal life with a transplanted kidney and take each day as it comes as tomorrow is not guaranteed. My creatine is 117 and I am very well.”