Text Size:   A- A A+  | Colour Scheme:  hivis reset
The largest kidney patient charity in the UK. Run by kidney patients, for kidney patients.

Click to donate to the NKF
https://cafdonate.cafonline.org/images/DonateButton.png   or  

Campaigns - All Party Parliamentary Kidney Group re-formed


Following the general Election on 7th May it was a great relief to find that only one of the existing All Party Parliamentary Kidney Group (APPKG) officers had lost their seat.  We say farewell to Duncan Hames (Liberal democrat)  and  formerly a APPKG  Vice Chair  -  we thank him for his support over  many years.

As a direct result of  all the work put in by readers of Kidney Life using  the NKF survey form, we begin the new Parliament with 106 members of the newly formed APPKG.  This is a great result and it means that the group continues to be one of the largest in the Houses of parliament. The group held its inaugural meeting on 24th June 2015 ( All Party Groups are disbanded at a General Election and have to start again when the house resumes ) .  The following were elected :-


Madeleine Moon MP – Chair

Glyn Davies MP – Joint Vice Chair

Lord Davies of Coity- Joint Vice Chair

Yasmin Quereshi MP – joint Vice Chair

Richard Benyon MP – Joint Vice Chair

Rosie Cooper MP – Secretary

Timothy Statham OBE – Group Secretariat


The meeting also considered its future programme of work, and agreed that this would include close monitoring of the Dialysis commissioning issue, the drop in numbers of Transplants, and the Wales opt in/opt out situation.


They noted that Earl Howe had been replaced by Lord Prior as Health Minister with renal responsibilities.